RLI Calendar

Quick Links
   
 

     
     About RLI

     Become a Member

     ALC Designation

     RLI Course Schedule

     Become an Ambassador

     ALC-ALC Teleconference

    TERRA FIRMA

     

Social Media

 

  Like us on......... 

 Find us on.......... 

 Connect via........

 Follow us on........Twitter

 


 

 PLATINUM INSTITUTE SPONSOR 

 

Farmers National
 
Special thanks to Farmers National for their continued support of excellence in land knowledge and professional connections as we move into 2014! They will continue to be a Platinum Sponsor in 2014 and are a 2014 Land Conference Partner.

  

Instructor & Provider Center

 
Instructor Information
 
If you are interested in becoming an instructor for any of the Land University courses, please read the RLI Instructor Approval and
Professional Development Policy below.
 
Below is a list of current Land University instructors:
 
Advanced Tax Deferred 1031 Exchange
James Miller: Phoenix, AZ, 602-850-8620, james.miller@ipx1031.com 
Craig Brown: Dallas, TX, 888-337-1031, craig.brown@ipx1031.com
 
Agricultural Land Brokerage and Marketing:
Ben Crosby: Winter Haven, FL, 263-293-5600, ben@crosbydirt.com
Kirk Goble: Greeley, CO, 970-356-1618, kirk@bell5.com
Randy Hertz: Nevada, IA, 515-382-6596, rhertz@nev.hfmgt.com
 
Auctions: A Marketing Method 
Sam Kain: West Des Moines, IA, 515-221-9950, skain@farmers-national.com
 
Basics of Eminent Domain Law:
Scott Doggett: Dallas TX, 214-740-3118, sdoggett@brlaw.com
 
Building Business Through Technology
Myers Jackson: Tallahassee, FL, 229-726-0065, myers@uccre.com 
 
Ethics in Real Estate
Call RLI National at 800.441.5263
 
Essentials of Negotiations
Call RLI National at 800.441.5263
 
Land 101: Fundamentals of Land Brokerage:
Steve Anderson: Lipan, TX 254-646-3237, steve@lipanland.com
Ben Crosby: Winter Haven, FL, 263-293-5600, ben@crosbydirt.com
Kirk Goble: Greeley, CO, 970-356-1618, kirk@bell5.com
Randy Hertz: Nevada, IA, 515-382-6596, rhertz@nev.hfmgt.com
Sam Kain: West Des Moines, IA, 515-221-9950, skain@farmers-national.com
 
Fletcher Majors: Wetumpka, AL, 334-567-0924, fletcher@greatsouthernland.com
Ned Massie: Richmond, VA, 804-750-1200, nmassie@grantmassie.com
 
Land: Conservation and an Environmental Perspective on Redevelopment 
Call RLI National 800.441.5263
 
Land Development:
Ned Massie: Richmond, VA, 804-750-1200, nmassie@grantmassie.com
Andre J. van Rensburg: Jacksonville, FL, 904-672-1802, ajvanrensburg@gmail.com
 
Land Investment Analysis:
Randy Hertz: Nevada, IA, 515-382-6596, rhertz@nev.hfmgt.com
Fletcher Majors: Wetumpka, AL, 334-567-0924, fletcher@greatsouthernland.com
 
Andre J. van Rensburg: Jacksonville, FL, 904-672-1802, ajvanrensburg@gmail.com
 
Legal Aspects of Real Estate
Call RLI National at 800.441.5263
 
Marketing Strategies 
Call RLI National at 800.441.5263
 
Mineral, Oil and Property Rights
Call RLI National at 800.441.5263
 
Practical Navigation for Land Professionals:
Rick Hood: Edmonds, WA, 425-275-3013, rick@hoodcs.com
 
Site Selection:
Ben Crosby: Winter Haven, FL, 263-293-5600, ben@crosbydirt.com
Andre J. van Rensburg: Jacksonville, FL, 904-672-1802, ajvanrensburg@gmail.com
 
Tax Deferred 1031 Exchanges:
Craig Brown: Dallas, TX, 888-337-1031, craig.brown@ipx1031.com
James Miller: Phoenix, AZ, 602-850-8630, james.miller@ipx1031.com
 
Tax Implications of Real Estate:
Chuck Stephens: 706-675-0227, chuck@stephensCPA.com 
 
Timberland:
Rick Taylor: McComb, MS 601-684-1516, rtaylor@mossyoakproperties.com
 
Transitional Land:
Fletcher Majors: Wetumpka, AL, 334-567-0924, fletcher@greatsouthernland.com
Ned Massie: Richmond, VA, 804-750-1200, nmassie@grantmassie.com

Instructor Policies, Procedures and Expectations
 

New Instructor Procedures and Policies

 

Note:  All instructors of LAND 101—Introduction to Land Brokerage—must be active Accredited Land Consultants.  This requirement will be visited on a one-by-one basis for the other course offerings.  Experience, background, expertise, education, and teaching experience will be considered.

All instructor applicants must

  1. Submit a resume including any previous teaching experience and land brokerage experience.
  2. Provide two references to be contacted by the committee members.  The references will be asked to supply information about the applicant’s character, experience, and knowledge base.
  3. Be an RLI member in good standing.
  4. Sign the “Instructor Code of Conduct.”
  5. Attend a course being taught by an RLI lead instructor after the Education Committee and the RLI Board of Directors have tentatively approved the applicant. 
  6. Instruct a course within two years after observing the Lead Instructor.  
    1. Send a video at least sixty minutes in length of the instructor’s facilitation of the course to the Director of Education and Policy or be observed teaching by an approved RLI member who will follow an observation checklist. 
    2. Complete a self-assessment provided by RLI
    3. Have outstanding evaluations

Fulfillment of the above will qualify the instructor to be fully approved.  All approved instructors must continue to fulfill the instructor professional development requirements.

All Approved RLI Instructors: Instructor Guidelines and Expectations.
 
The following applies to all approved RLI instructors.
 
Instructor Code of Conduct 
Sign an Instructor Code of Conduct in January of each year that is supplied to the instructors by RLI staff and to which 
instructors adhere. 
 
Videos 
Send a video of at least sixty minutes in length of the instructor’s facilitation o f the course to the RLI Executive Vice President 
or be observed teaching by an approved RLI member who will follow the RLI Instructor Observation Checklist. 
 
Student Data Forms 
Have student complete student data forms at the beginning of the class. These must be returned to RLI National by 
the instructor or a course administrator. 
 
Materials 
Use the branded manuals, power points, exams, and other materials supplied by RLI National. 
 
Preparation 
Be completely prepared prior to the class. Course content, power point presentations, and exam questions should 
be checked for accuracy and for update needs. All updates should be submitted to the RLI Executive Vice President for approval. 
A “Course Alert Form” is available for these suggested updates. A copy of this form is electronically sent to instructors in January
of each year. 
 
No outdated materials should be presented to students. The instructor has the responsibility to submit the updates to RLI 
National. Upon content approval, the instructors will be asked to make the modifications in a word document that follows the 
LANDU manual format. 
 
Best Practices 
Use best practices for adult learning. These will be distributed annually to instructors. These will include that reading to the 
students from the manual for from the power point is not an acceptable practice. This goes hand-in-hand with knowing one’s 
information and advanced preparation. 
 
Exams 
Have course administrators grade the exams. All hard copies of graded exams are to be sent to RLI National. If an administrator 
is not going to be available, the instructor should arrange in advance with RLI National to have the exam offered online to the 
students. 
 
Student Evaluations 
Student evaluations must be submitted for each course taught by all instructors. Staff will review and prepare reports from the 
evaluations. If evaluations or other concerns reach a level that staff or members feel requires action, the Board of Directors (BOD) 
or Officers may suspend or revoke an instructor’s approval to teach. The Executive Vice President may suspend the approval of 
RLI member instructors where serious infractions occur and the Officers are not readily available to make a decision. 
The Officers or BOD will meet to take action in these cases as soon as possible. 
 
Reinstatement criteria may include further training of a nature to be determined by the BOD. 
 
 
Professional Development: Policies and Procedures
 
Professional Development Opportunities:
 
A. Coursework and White Papers: Submit for approval a course or courses to be taken that directly relate to improving knowledge in
the business of land and/or in instructional best practices for instructors. Course syllabi and summaries should be submitted for
approval prior to taking the course(s).
1. Courses should be a minimum of eight total contact hours. 
2. When completed, submit proof of having taken the course.   The proof should be:
    • A five-paragraph or more summary of the content covered that can be shared with members and/or faculty members as a
              white paper.
    • A copy of a certificate of successful completion of the course should be submitted to the RLI Education Manager. 
White papers and proof of completion must be submitted prior to the end of the year.
B. RLI Course Updates: Participate in updating an RLI course. Submit a proposal for a course update to the RLI Education Manager
for approval.
C. RLI Web Seminars: Participate in developing and facilitating a web seminar. Submit a proposal for a web seminar to the RLI
Education Manager for approval.
D. In-Service Training:  Develop and facilitate an in-service training via a web seminar and/or at an RLI instructor forum.  Submit
a proposal explaining the format and objectives of the training program to the RLI Education Manager for approval.
E. New Course Development:  Develop the content for a new course relevant to the business of land.  Submit a proposal
summarizing content to be covered and course objectives.
F. RLI Land Conference: Present at the Land Conference on a subject matter relative to the course the RLI instructor teaches.
 
1031 instructors who are attorneys:
A. Coursework and White Papers:  Submit proof of having successfully completed the yearly courses that are required to stay
current with the 1031 rules and regulations.  The proof should be the following:
1. A five-paragraph or more summary of content covered that can be shared with members and others as a white paper
2. A copy of a successful completion certificate of the yearly course.
  
Course Providers:
RLI Land University courses are held by licensed course providers who schedule, plan, market, and conduct on-site management
of classroom offerings of Land University courses.  Contact individual course providers to request information on fees and registration
for a particular Land University course.  
 
Each RLI Chapter is an approved course provider for the Land University curriculum. See below for RLI Chapter President
contact information. In addition to the RLI Chapters, REBAC Course License Agreement holders also have the right to hold any of the
Land University Courses. Click here to see the list of REBAC.
 

2014 Course Providers to contact for course information
 

Alabama

President

Fletcher Majors, ALC

334-567-0924

fletcher@greatsouthernland.com

 

Administrative Assistant

Jeanne W. Smith

256-825-4331

 

Arkansas

President

Jeramy Stephens, ALC

870-672-4820

jstephens@mossyoakproperties.com

 

Administrative Assistant

Lindsey Osifchin

501-225-2020

lindsey@arkansasrealtors.com

 

Carolinas

President

Christina Asbury, ALC

910-262-3948

christinarealtor@yahoo.com

 

Coordinator

Ashley Blackburn

336-854-5868

ablackburn@grra.org

 

Colorado

President

Bart Miller, ALC

970-379-0218

bart@ranchland.com

 

Administrator

Maggie Thomas

303-506-8805

rli.coloradochapter5@gmail.com

 

Education Chair

Art Girten

agirten@aol.com

 

Florida

President

Sage Andress, ALC

813-416-4254

sage.sunmark@outlook.com

 

Administrator

Lisa Couture

lisa@gtar.net

 

Georgia

President

Charlie Lathem, ALC

770-983-1310

clathem@bellsouth.net

 

Administrator

Christy Conway

678-597-4121

CConway@garealtor.com

 

Iowa

President

Terry Pauling, ALC

515-961-0247

terry@peoplescompany.com

 

President Elect / Education Leader

Eric Schultz

532-299-4407

ericschlutz@ruhlhomes.com 

 

Illinois

President

Dan Flanagan, ALC

630-388-8522

flanaganrealty@yahoo.com

 

Administrator

Jill Bernahl

309-579-2947

JillBernahl3@frontier.com

 

Kansas

President

John Rupp, ALC

316-292-3914

jrupp@weigand.com

 

Maryland

President

Stephen Ferrandi, ALC

443-574-1430

sferrandi@klnb.com

 

Minnesota

President

Wendy Forthun, ALC

507-634-7033

wendy@1stop-realty.com

 

Secretary

Patricia Keltgen

320-523-1050

pat@1stop-realty.com

 

Mississippi

President

Wesley Webb

662-844-1681

wwebb@mossyoakproperties.com 

 

Administrator

Jackie Stacy

601-932-5241

jstacy@msrealtors.org 

 

Oklahoma

President

Zurick Labrier, ALC

806-681-9099

Zurick@cliftlandbrokers.com

 

Pacific NW

President

Flo Sayre, ALC

509-539-3161

fsayre@farmersnational.com

 

Tennessee

President

Bob Turner, ALC

901-755-7708

bturner@southernprop.net

 

Administrator

Sally Cummings

615-440-5037

sally.cummings@tarnet.com

 

Texas

President

Rusty Lowe, ALC

903-785-8484

rustylowe@c21php.com

 

Administrator

Patricia Webb

800-873-9155, ext. 116

pwebb@texasrealtors.com

 

Secretary / Education

Cathy Cole, ALC

979-251-0603

cathy@cathycolerealtor.com

 

Virginia

President

Jeff Huff, ALC

804-750-1207

jhuff@grantmassie.com

 

Wyoming

President

Ivan Judd, ALC

307-856-4663 

ruralhome@wyoming.com

 

 
powered by MemberClicks